| Author |
Message |
Juliartz Total posts: 193
|
I have just received this "Bank Update" email to several of my email accounts. This is a scam! PLEASE, PLEASE anyone that gets this, don't be fooled by it. Please pass this around so none of your family or friends fall prey to it!
[img]  [/img] |
|
_________________ JuliArtz Photography
Where Art & Life Come Together
www.juliartz.com
StarGarzerz Custom Gifts
Where Everything Made Individually Is Still An Art
www.stargarzerz.com
JulzBodyBoutique
Products that Pamper Your Body & Senses
www.julzbodyboutique.com |
|
No rating |
|
 |
knappschiles Location: Wi Total posts: 3418
|
I periodically get something similar from "BOA" too. Usually it's some kind of "renewal". I also get LaSalle bank and Chase bank.
Problem is I'm not a customer at ANY of those banks.
Originally I tried to forward them to "spoof@" whatever bank. But most of the banks have such a clunky web site that you can't even find their contact info if you aren't a customer of theirs. You would think they would want to get these scams so they could take them down.
So now they just get deleted right away.
Carol |
|
_________________
http://knapps-fresh-vegies.netfirms.com/
Join the RevolutionMoneyExchange!!
See my web site for bonus free offers from me.
Carols Tomatoes at Bonanzle |
|
No rating |
|
 |
Juliartz Total posts: 193
|
Most of the ones that I had gotten from the various "financial" institutions were either from like you said, banks that I have no account with or from paypal, which I would get the most from. However, ironically, I do have an account with this bank. But becuase of warnings I've read here and other places, I knew not to "click" on that link. Instead, in this case, I did go directly to my bank internet service just to reaffirm what I already knew. Since I learned about this kind of stuff here, I wanted to make sure that I also passed on this, so others would be informed also. The delete function has/is becoming a close friend of mine also... |
|
_________________ JuliArtz Photography
Where Art & Life Come Together
www.juliartz.com
StarGarzerz Custom Gifts
Where Everything Made Individually Is Still An Art
www.stargarzerz.com
JulzBodyBoutique
Products that Pamper Your Body & Senses
www.julzbodyboutique.com |
|
No rating |
|
 |
knappschiles Location: Wi Total posts: 3418
|
Actually just a few minutes after I made my other post, I got a PP phish about "unusual activity in my account" so my account was restricted. At least that 1 I could send to spoof at PP.
And YES it was a spoof confirmed by PP.
I like the delete key, but even better I like my "mailwasher" program. I can "see" what is in a suspicious email BEFORE I have to download it in case there is a virus or anything bad in it. Then I mark them and they are deleted directly from the server.
Some ISPs have the ability to view your email on their servers thru the web site. That would serve the same function as mailwasher in that you don't have to download first. Safer than accidentally having something bad sitting on your computer.
Carol |
|
_________________
http://knapps-fresh-vegies.netfirms.com/
Join the RevolutionMoneyExchange!!
See my web site for bonus free offers from me.
Carols Tomatoes at Bonanzle |
|
No rating |
|
 |
psunite Location: Columbus OH Total posts: 5857
|
|
|
_________________ Please feel free to use these buttons
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
knappschiles Location: Wi Total posts: 3418
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
knappschiles Location: Wi Total posts: 3418
|
Here is a bit of a new twist on an old Phish.
I just got a PP phish that I think is telling me my PP card has expired and to log-in to update.
The reason I say "I think" is because the whole thing is in a foreign language, French I think.
They are using an addy trick too -- paypaI.com . Notice it's not an "l" (el) but a capitol I, which looks similar depending on the font.
Just be careful,
Carol |
|
_________________
http://knapps-fresh-vegies.netfirms.com/
Join the RevolutionMoneyExchange!!
See my web site for bonus free offers from me.
Carols Tomatoes at Bonanzle |
|
No rating |
|
 |
LFRYARTGUY Location: San Antonio, Texas Total posts: 568
|
look at the Email address in the original posted message..
notice the double " f " in "bankoffamerica"...it's just like the "I" that Carol mentioned .. which is a subtle change most folks won't see...
I have made it a practice to NOT respond to any online question on ANY Account that has money involved..I'd rather get on the Phone & inquire about the question directly.. |
|
_________________ .
 |
|
No rating |
|
 |
mojavelyn Location: Mojave Desert CA 120 miles from civilization Total posts: 4103
|
Yep, Lindsey is right... always check out the issue at the site or on the phone.. NEVER click on the links in the emails.
If you do, run spybot immediately...
and adaware...
a registry tweak, compression. and defrag... and virus scans !!!! And reboot!
Then go change your passwords. Directly.
Hi Lindsey!!! LTNC!!!! |
|
_________________ Lynette, but my friends call me Mo.
 |
|
No rating |
|
 |
knappschiles Location: Wi Total posts: 3418
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
LFRYARTGUY Location: San Antonio, Texas Total posts: 568
|
Hey Mo-
I'm around.. just invisible !!! |
|
_________________ .
 |
|
No rating |
|
 |
mojavelyn Location: Mojave Desert CA 120 miles from civilization Total posts: 4103
|
Well get uninvisible!!!! |
|
_________________ Lynette, but my friends call me Mo.
 |
|
No rating |
|
 |
|
|