 |
Please consider a small donation to help me keep this site running.
 |
|
| Recent Topics |
» Blujay Gone Mad
by sciencefare on Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:04 pm
» Rate my new hair care product website
by sciencefare on Wed Jan 07, 2009 5:03 pm
» Hello Everyone - New Here - Ex-Powerseller
by George78 on Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:52 pm
» US Bank Fraud on my home mortgage they ripped me off HELP!
by gooddealsbooks on Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:51 pm
» Need some assistance
by northstar01 on Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:50 pm
» Cant get ionCube running
by massder on Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:48 pm
» For FUN..Anyone up for a game of word association ??
by jimboyposting on Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:35 pm
» eBay Alternatives Pick up Steam in 2008 Thanks to Google
by Lady*Belle on Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:12 pm
» Ex-eBay CEO Whitman to run for California governor
by Protomodels on Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:59 pm
» Sellers/Shoppers, What Do You like-dislike About Ecrater?
by cjalaska on Wed Jan 07, 2009 3:48 pm
|
|
|
 |
| Author |
Message |
beckysthisnthat Location: Texas Total posts: 1393
|
I recently bought an item on greedbay from a seller I haven't bought from before. The location said UK, but later correspondence strongly indicates that the seller is in China and the item DID originate from China (maybe a dropshipper, maybe not.)
After delivery of the item, I got a spoof email from PP addressing me by my full name and saying that I have added a new address. The new address was correct and the same address I've had for 20 years. I did send it to PP and they confirmed it wasn't from them. It unsettled me that someone has all my info.
Now I get the following email. I have never heard of this website. The sender seems to have an oriental name. I don't know the seller's that I dealt with as they used their ID and I used PP. Am I possibly putting 2 and 2 together?
Here's the email:
Yub.com is the world's first online virtual mall, letting you earn up to 25% cash back when you shop America's top brands, including Buy.com, Gap, Apple, Dell, Macy's, Art.com, and Target. Just like a real world mall, there are other mall shoppers that you can choose to interact with as you shop - or you can choose to shop privately.
Here is the link to join:
http://xxxxxxxxxx
-sender's name
---------------------------------------
Yub.com is the world's first online virtual mall, letting you earn up to 25% cash back when you shop America's top brands, including Buy.com, Gap, Apple, Dell, Macy's, Art.com, and Target. Just like a real world mall, there are other mall shoppers that you can choose to interact with as you shop - or you can choose to shop privately.
(sender) has invited you to set up an account and be a friend on Yub.com, which means you and (sender) can start using the site together, but before you can be added as one of (sender's) trusted friends, Yub needs your confirmation.
Membership in Yub is free, and it takes less than 60 seconds to sign up.
- The Yub Team |
|
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
beckysthisnthat Location: Texas Total posts: 1393
|
By the way, I didn't click the yub link, but just went directly there to see what it was. My MAMA didn't raise no dummy!  |
|
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
teapotdee Total posts: 550
 Currently banned
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
beckysthisnthat Location: Texas Total posts: 1393
|
That address thing really bothers me especially when it's attached to a fake PP website. It has to be someone I've either bought from or sold to in order for all that information to be available. I have tried to read heders myself before, but they just boggle my mind. And then the other email so soon afterward and, I'm sorry, being from China. I don't like it at all.
Will that website know how to decode the header? |
|
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
teapotdee Total posts: 550
 Currently banned
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
LeeLeeBlue Total posts: 774
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
teapotdee Total posts: 550
 Currently banned
|
Yes, and I am glad they have that to check. I remember a neighbor of mine trying to start a political letter-writing campaign because she said the IRS had charged her $3 apiece for blank 1040 forms!
She had gone to IRS.COM and ordered them! *LOL*
That was a few years ago, and I think that site must have been the inspiration for the .gov ! |
|
_________________ http://forums.ebay.com/db2/thread.jspa?threadID=1000222273 |
|
No rating |
|
 |
LeeLeeBlue Total posts: 774
|
|
No rating |
|
 |
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum You cannot attach files in this forum You can download files in this forum
|
|  |